Farmers-Caesareans 1s ease to treble

Arguably the best season in Farmers-Caesareans history keeps on getting better and better.

After already finishing both the 40 Over Premier Division which opened the season and the subsequent T20 Premier Division unbeaten and claiming both titles, Farmers-Caesareans 1sts continued their fantastic performances to clinch the 2nd 40 Over Premier Division title with a game to spare.

A strong Farmers side full made full use of the superb pitch prepared by Head Groundsman Jim Perchard and after winning the toss and choosing to bat, posted a fantastic total of 335-6 largely thanks to Ben Stevens’ 167 from 113 balls. After Andrew Rabet dismissed the Old Victorians dangermen of Corey Bisson and Nat Watkins in the 2nd over, the result was never in doubt, finally ending on 232-9, leaving Farmers-Caesareans victorious by 103 runs.

Resident number 11 and Captain James Perchard was understandably ecstatic after Farmers ‘unbelievable season.’

‘Only 2 years ago Farmers hadn’t won a trophy before winning the T20 cup in 2014, and to now win all 3 in the same season is just fantastic,’ Perchard continued. ‘It hasn’t been ideal with the number of players taken by Jersey for the World T20 Qualifier and the U15 and U19 European Tournaments, however we have a strong 2nd team and a lot of our 2nd team players stepped up with key contributions and kept our winning run going.’

‘We have been building the young squad over the last few years and the hard work is really paying off and it is fantastic to see.’

The 2nd and 3rd teams continued the good feeling in the club with wins on Sunday to stay top of Division 1 and 2 respectively.

James Turnbull joined Stevens on the Honours Board in the Pavilion with an unbeaten 138 in the 2nds 134 run win over St Ouen Springfield. After racking up 311-3, with Turnbull supported by Andrew Kearsey (67) on the same belter as the 1sts used on Saturday, SOS were restricted to 177 all out.

The 3rds posted 184-4, built around Paul Le Bihan’s 51* before dismissing Walkovers for 157 and running out victors by 27 runs.